About Sacred Heart


Sacred Heart Catholic Church was established in 1966 and was initially part of the San Antonio Archdiocese. Since 2000, it is within the Diocese of Laredo, itself founded on July 3, 2000 by Pope John Paul II and overseen by its first Bishop, James Anthony Tamayo. Bishop Tamayo had until that time been Auxiliary Bishop for the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston.

The Laredo diocese includes portions of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Corpus Christi and the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of San Antonio, namely the counties of Dimmit, Jim Hogg, La Salle, Maverick, Webb, Zapata, and Zavala. On August 9, 2000, the Apostolic Letters erecting the diocese and installing Bishop Tamayo were formally read by the Apostolic Nuncio.

Our Parish Priest is Father Peter Antonisamy, OMI who has been with us since 2013. He came to us from Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish and Shrine in Midland, where he spent just one year before being reassigned to Sacred Heart to take over for Father Pablo Wilhelm who was transferred to Roma, Texas.

Sacred Heart is located at 2055 Williams Street in Eagle Pass, Texas 78852

Our office phone number is 830-773-2451. Our fax number is 830-773-0643.

The CCD Office phone number is 830-758-1681.

Mission Parish: Sacred Heart oversees San Juan De Los Lagos Catholic Mission in El Indio.